Jane Eyre – Review #3

I finally finished reading Jane Eyre! Don’t get me wrong, I’ve come to like classics (although not as much as YA) but I’m just glad that I’m done with it because I’ve been reading it for English for two months now. Onto the actual review…9780141037370

In the beginning I was very reserved when I hear that I had to read JE (from now on I’ll refer to Jane Eyre as JE) for class but I was also excited as I have heard that if you want to get into classics then that is the way to go. At first the language was a bit touch and go but I found it way more accessible than Charles Dickens but more challenging than Anne of Green Gables which I had thoroughly enjoyed.

With the story line I was very much intrigued with Jane and her story and with that in mind I really enjoyed the first half of the book, mainly because I love stories of orphans and/or boarding schools, so young Jane was somebody I enjoyed reading about. From a young age she was very headstrong and always stood up for herself and what she believed in, which she continued to do throughout the book. It was also fast paced and very easy to understand, making it very accessible and fast for me to get through.

However, as the book went on, the pacing slowed down a lot (for me, anyway) and I found myself losing interest and instead of wanting to read the book I found myself tediously trying to enjoy the book when I clearly wasn’t. The Victorian drama of people courting each other just didn’t appeal to me that much, and it reminded me of pride and prejudice where I had to force myself to get through the last few chapters of the book.The only good thing about the last part of the book was the way Charlotte Bronte brought things back which made for some very interesting events that transpired towards the end, a real sense of karma was involved there.

Overall, it was a decent book, and I really liked certain things about it, but I wouldn’t call it a favorite by any means due to how slow and tedious it got towards the end. With that in mind I can safely say that the last 100 pages weren’t needed and that if it was shortened then it would have been more of a 5 star book than just a three star. Although I would recommend it to people who are only just getting started with classics but a I highly recommend you read Anne of Green Gables and Alice in Wonderland first.

– Maryan

Leave a Reply

