Awake by Natasha Preston |Book Review

22881022

Title:Awake

Author: Natasha Preston

Source: I received an e-arc of this book for free on a read-to-review basis via NetGalley, this did not affect opinions expressed in this review.

Publication Date: August 4, 2015

Scarlett doesn’t remember anything before the age of five. Her parents say it’s from the trauma of seeing her house burn down, and she accepts the life they’ve created for her without question—until a car accident causes Scarlett to start remembering pieces of an unfamiliar past.

When a new guy moves into town, Scarlett feels an instant spark. But Noah knows the truth of Scarlett’s past, and he’s determined to shield her from it…because Scarlett grew up in a cult called Eternal Light, controlled by her biological parents.

And they want her back.

Goodreads

The Review

What kept me reading was the cult theme, I wanted to see the cult in action and I wanted to know what happened because I hadn’t read a book which explored a cult, so this book was a good introduction to this theme. The way it explored this theme as well I thought gave it more than one perspective because it was written in dual perspective, this element of books which I think most of the time is just thrown in and used just for the sake of it and in turn does not fulfill its purpose of giving the reader more than one opinion. Both of these kept me curious enough to keep flicking the pages.

No surprises though! Right around the middle of the book it started getting predictable and unfortunately you have to take this book at face value because there will be NO big surprises that you weren’t expecting.

baby animated GIF

I enjoyed this book, it was very compelling and the writing style kept my attention, it moved fluidly, and the mystery was just enough to keep me going. Did it have some flaws and issues? There were a few things that could be corrected with editing but honestly I got too wrapped up in the story and the disturbing reality that stuff like this really does happen to get too nit picky. Of course I read an arc and not a finished thing but if they straitened a few things out (like making the characters come to life more and not just be there just to keep the plot going) there is potential.

Rating: 3/5

It was alright, – I did finish it after all – but it is in no way finished and needs some editing. Although I would recommend you give this a go if you liked Natasha Preston’s other work like The Cellar because it has in my opinion the same sense of impending doom or if you have never read a book on the inner thoughts and workings into a cult.

That was my first book review, it was actually quite fun so I don’t know why I had been avoiding doing one but I’m sure i have a lot to improve. Please tell me of you think I should change my set out, maybe my use of GIFs is offending you ect, I would love the constructive criticism and feedback you give me!

Until next time keep reding, but don’t stay up all night for three consecutive nights reading like I did.

Leave a Reply

